Down the Docks

January 23, 2008

Budgeting and Money

Filed under: Resolutions — ealing @ 2:03 am

The last of the resolutions. To cut a long story short, I want to keep lifestyle inflation from undoing the good work I’ve done in my career and finances over the last couple of years. I’m not a student anymore and I don’t intend to live like one, but the rate at which money slips through my fingers sometimes is too high.

As a warm-up I tried a spending fast (spend no cash, in my case for a week). The point is that the spending prohibition makes you conscious of where you would normally spend. I’m sure I can save money, eat better and eat healthier by making my own lunch sometimes. What will make more diference for me though, is the big ticket items. I need to resist new computers and gadgets I don’t need, new clothes I won’t wear, and books I won’t ever read, and can barely even store. I really need to work on the books!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

