Down the Docks

October 13, 2006

Moving Flat pt I: Where To?

Filed under: General, Work — ealing @ 1:30 am

I hate moving. I really, really hate moving, even more than Rory Blyth hates it . It’s going to have to happen though.

My present to myself for my 30th birthday was a new, much better, job. I’d originally been planning to see out my three month probation before thinking about moving, but I hate the commute so much that I have to move sooner.

If the title of my blog didn’t give it away, I live in Ealing, in a top-floor flat. Until last month, I was working in Acton. On a very bad day, it would take me 20 minutes door-to-desk to get to work; it only took longer when the Central line was broken for some reason. Now I’m working near London Bridge tube, and my commute is an hour long, door-to-desk. If it was relaxing or pleasant, I wouldn’t mind, but it’s 45 minutes of hot, crowded tube, plus a couple of minutes of Bond Street station, with a more pleasant five-minute walk at each end. I know a lot of people, at my previous employer and my current one, who commute for 90 minutes or more. Well, I don’t have kids and I don’t have a mortgage, so I’m not putting up with it.

Today I started thinking in broad terms about where to move to. The most important factor is that my commute to and from must be under 30 minutes. A good night bus service would also be very useful. I don’t want to blow my pay rise on accommodation, so I want the all-in cost per month to be under £560.

I talked to a few people at work and got some ideas. Places that came up were: Clapham, Greenwich, Charlton, Bermondsey, Camberwell, Dulwich, Hackney, Southwark, Borough, and Stratford, which I believe is near Helsinki.

For the last two years I have been decrying South London as a grim, uncultured, bandit-infested wasteland, but I guess I’m now going to have to eat those words. This weekend I’ll be looking into expected travel times from those places, and checking on availability on sites like Gumtree and MoveFlat.

If anyone’s got any advice on moving, or opinions on where to move to, let’s hear them.

2 Comments »

  1. Rotherhithe or Wapping. You’ll have a nice new flat in a really interesting part of London. The views of the river are great. Some bits of the Isle of Dogs are good. Some of our friends live around the Royal Victoria Dock and that’s lovely – although their neighbour are nasty.

    Comment by Iain — October 13, 2006 @ 8:24 am

  2. I have visited your site. A problem which you discuss on your site is very important for me. Thank you for your resume. Visit please my site to.

    Comment by Richard — February 17, 2007 @ 11:40 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

