Down the Docks

January 13, 2006

Salsa New Year

Filed under: Salsa — ealing @ 1:06 pm

I’d forgotten how a really good night can give you a buzz that lasts most of the next day.

That’s not a good thing. Tuesdays at Tiger Tiger in Newcastle used to keep me happy until Wednesday evening. I guess I just got jaded and tired in the last month or so before Christmas.

I’d skipped SOS on Sunday, so Bar Salsa on Monday was only the second salsa in about three weeks. My first couple of tracks felt ropey, but once I got into it, I was having more fun than I’d had in ages. I styled, I spun, I made a connection, I hit the breaks, I danced with everyone. It was bliss, and a timely reminder of what salsa should be like.

The only downside was the realisation that my Christmas inactivity had me even less fit than before. I didn’t seem to be the only one suffering, either. If the cost of fitness is a few nights like that, I’ll gladly pay it. Now I’m fervently hoping that Ealing tonight will be as good.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

