Down the Docks

December 31, 2005

Binge Drinking – How Do They Do It?

Filed under: Uncategorized — ealing @ 5:36 am

In a really bad way, I’m kind of impressed by this BBC story on binge drinking. A journalist investigated the issue by engaging in it for a month. Over the course of that month, she consumed 516 units of alcohol.

I’ll admit that during the course of my first degree, there were times when I probably got through about the same amount. That habit, though, didn’t last long when I actually had to get up and go to work in the morning. I’ve known some people that preferred to have their hangovers on company time, but I’ve always preferred to have them in bed, so I soon realised I would have to stop.

Returning to the journalist, let’s do some maths to get a lower limit on alcohol consumed per night. Five hundred and sixteen units over a five-weekend month is 103 units per weekend. That means 26 units per drinking night, roughly the equivalent of 13 pints of beer. Even if the consumption was spread evenly through the month, that’s still nearly 17 units of alcohol a day. That’s a hefty amount of booze for anyone at any time, but it’s the regularity of it that’s the most awesome.

I think I should get my liver cloned. If the figure given of 8.2 million regular heavy drinkers in Britain is accurate, then liver should be in high demand quite soon.

1 Comment »

  1. That really is incredible. Even at the zenith of my university boozing, I couldn’t match 13 pints a night for 5 nights, never mind afford it.

    Comment by Jonathan Beeston — January 3, 2006 @ 12:20 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

